Caroline PÉTIGNY

Scientific Relations

My career

I joined ENSCMu in 1995, being part of the first classes having had the chance to benefit from the sandwich course system. This extraordinary experience fully converted me to Research & Development, pushing me to do a PhD at the University of Grenoble, and then a post-doc in England. Since 2004, I had the opportunity to work in R&D in the pharmaceutical industry, both in a big group (in Paris) and in a medium-size company (in Basel, Switzerland).

My job

I joined BASF in 2007 to deal with the scientific relationships of the company in France. I like this new position very much as it enables me to extend my activities to the outside world, while staying close to R&D and to researchers.

In brief

For more than 10 years, I faced many changes, both geographically and professionally, but I have always kept a guiding line and very clear goals. These different experiences have been particularly enriching from a personal, cultural and professional point of view.

Throughout my career, the most difficult challenge, and also my greatest successes, were to keep the right balance between my work and my personal life. For that, I needed to listen to myself and to be open to others at the same time. Looking back, I have come to realise that all these exchanges allowed me to progress and to be where I am today, and that they will allow me to continue along my own path.

Caroline PÉTIGNY

Relations scientifiques

caroline-petignyMon parcours

Entrée en 1995 à l’ENSCMu, j’ai fait partie des premières promos ayant la chance de pouvoir profiter du système d’année d’alternance. Cette formidable expérience m’a définitivement convertie à la Recherche & Développement et m’a poussée à faire ensuite une thèse à l’Université de Grenoble puis un post doctorat en Angleterre. Depuis 2004, j’ai eu l’occasion de travailler en R&D dans le domaine de la pharmacie, à la fois dans un grand groupe (Paris) et dans une PME (Bâle en Suisse).

Mon métier

J’ai rejoint BASF fin 2007 pour m’occuper des relations scientifiques de l’entreprise en France. Ce nouveau poste me plait beaucoup car il me permet d’ouvrir très largement le champ de mes activités sur l’extérieur, tout en restant très proche de la R&D et des chercheurs.

En résumé

Depuis plus de 10 ans, j’ai connu beaucoup de changements, à la fois géographiques et fonctionnels, mais j’ai toujours conservé une ligne directrice et des objectifs très clairs pour moi. Ces différentes expériences ont été particulièrement enrichissantes, tant au niveau personnel et culturel que professionnel.
Tout au long de mon parcours, la plus grande difficulté que j’ai rencontrée, mais aussi je crois ma plus grande réussite, a été de maintenir toujours le bon équilibre entre mon travail et ma vie personnelle. Pour cela, l’écoute de soi et surtout l’écoute et l’ouverture aux autres sont indispensables. Je me rends compte d’ailleurs à postériori que ce sont tous ces nombreux échanges qui m’ont permis d’avancer, d’arriver là aujourd’hui et qui me permettront de continuer ma route.